* Travel around the lake in a counterclockwise direction.
* When overtaking another watercraft always pass on its port (the left) side.
* Motorboats must give way to non-motorized vessels such as sailboats, rowboats, sailboards, and kayaks.
* Watercraft must stay at least 100' from shore, docks, rafts, and anchored boats unless traveling at a no-wake speed.
* A boat or personal watercraft pulling skiers, tubers, etc. must have a spotter - a person other than the driver - to watch those being towed.
* Maximum boating speed on an inland lake is 55 mph.
* It is illegal to operate a PWC (personal watercraft/jet ski) from sunset to 8 a.m.
* Jumping the wake with a PWC can be construed as reckless behavior regardless of your distance from the boat generating the wake.
* PWC should stay at least 200' from fishermen.
* PWC owners who allow a friend to operate their boat can also be ticketed for any infraction even if the owners are not on the boat.
* Only a 3-person PWC can pull tubers, skiers, etc.
* One life jacket or PFD is required for each person on board.
* A throwable PFD (ring, cushion) is required on any boat 16' or longer.
Boating Safety for All Age Levels (Click Here)
* Are accompanied on board by their parent
or legal guardian or by a person at least 21
years of age who has been designated by the
parent or legal guardian or
* Are operating or riding the PWC at a
distance of not more than 100 feet from their
parent or legal guardian or from a person at
least 21 years of age who has been
designated by the parent or legal guardian.
Michigan law places certain restrictions on boat and personal watercraft (PWC) operators. These restrictions vary depending on the operator's age, the type of vessel being operated, and the horsepower of that vessel.
Every boater on North Lake should make boating a safe, enjoyable pastime! Become an educated, responsible boater by completinga Michigan boater safety course and practice what you learn. You must be at least 12 years of age to take this online course.
* May not operate a boat powered by a motor of
more than 35 hp legally under any conditions.
.* May operate a boat powered by a motor of no
more than 6 horsepower (hp) legally without
*May operate a boat powered by a motor of
more than 6 hp but not more than 35 hp
legally only if they:
Those less than 14 years of age may not legally operate a PWC.
Those 14 and 15 years of age may operate a PWC legally only if they havve obtained a boating safety certificate and.
- Have been issued a boating safety
certificate and have it on board the boat and
- Are directly supervised on board by a
person at least 16 years of age.
Persons less than 12 years of age:
. . . .
Those born on or after July 1, 1996, may operate a boat legally only if they have been issued a boating safety certificate and have it on board the boat.
Those born before July 1, 1996, may operate a
boat legally without restrictions.
Those at least 16 years of age and born after December 31,1978, may operate a PWC legally only if they have obtained a boating safety certificate.
Those born on or before December 31, 1978, may operate a PWC legally without restrictions.